Wednesday, July 07, 2010

ALA 2010: Children's and Young Adult Book Blogs

Children’s and YA Book Blogs: Enhancing Library Services.
Sunday, June 27, 2010
8 a.m – 10 a.m.

I presented with Travis from 100 Scope Notes and Pam from MotherReader. Despite competing popular programming, such as the YALSA “speed dating with authors” coffee klatch, as well as an 8:00 a.m. start date, 130 people attended this panel on using book blogs to assist in library services such as collection development, readers advisory, and programming.

The PowerPoint, should you want to look at it, is available at SlideShare at http://www.slideshare.net/eaburns/ala-presentation

Travis has a terrific video at his website; and Pam also reports on ALA at her blog. The Photo is from Mitali Perkins. (Thanks Mitali who doesn't know I borrowed it...well, she knows now.)

Blogs mentioned in the PowerPoint, in order they were initially mentioned. All were accessed and live as of June 2010; I added a couple of updated URLs were appropriate.

Elizabeth Burns, A Chair, A Fireplace & A Tea Cozy, http://yzocaet.blogspot.com/

Pam Coughlan, MotherReader, http://www.motherreader.com/

Travis Jonker, 100 Scope Notes, http://100scopenotes.com/

Melissa Wiley, Here in the Bonny Glen, http://melissawiley.typepad.com/bonnyglen currently blogs at http://melissawiley.com/blog

Cybils, http://dadtalk.typepad.com/cybils and http://www.cybils.com/

Robin Brande, http://www.robinbrande.com/

Annual Kidlitosphere Conference, www.kidlitosphere.org/kidlitcon and information about the October 2010 Conference is at http://kidlitcon2010.blogspot.com/

Kidlitosphere Central, http://www.kidlitosphere.org/

A Fuse # 8 Production at School Library Journal, http://blog.schoollibraryjournal.com/afuse8production

Kids Lit, http://kidslit.menashalibrary.org/

American Indians in Children’s Literature, http://americanindiansinchildrensliterature.blogspot.com/
Charlotte’s Library, http://charlotteslibrary.blogspot.com/

From the Mixed Up Files . . . of Middle Grade Authors, http://www.fromthemixedupfiles.com/

Little Willow, http://slayground.livejournal.com/

Scrub-a-Dub-Tub, http://childrens-literacy.com/

Color Online, http://coloronline.blogspot.com/

Chasing Ray, http://www.chasingray.com/

Steph Su Reads, http://stephsureads.blogspot.com/

Small Beer Press, http://smallbeerpress.com/

TLC Book Tours, http://tlcbooktours.com/

Cynthia Leitich Smith at Cynsations, http://cynthialeitichsmith.blogspot.com/

Reading in Color, http://blackteensread2.blogspot.com/

GalleySmith, http://www.galleysmith.com/

Librarian By Day, http://librarianbyday.blogspot.com/

POC Reading Challenge, http://pocreading.blogspot.com/

The Story Siren, http://www.thestorysiren.com/

School celebrates Lincoln's 200th birthday with presidential impersonator, Web cast, Grand Rapids Press February 2009, www.mlive.com/news/grand-rapids/index.ssf/2009/02/school_celebrates_lincolns_200.html

Bookends at Booklist Online, http://bookends.booklistonline.com/

Good Comics for Kids at School Library Journal, http://blog.schoollibraryjournal.com/goodcomicsforkids

Shelf Talker at Publishers Weekly, http://blogs.publishersweekly.com/blogs/shelftalker

Chicken Spaghetti, http://www.chickenspaghetti.typepad.com/

Hi Miss Julie!, http://himissjulie.com/

Heavy Medal: A Mock Newbery Blog at School Library Journal, http://blog.schoollibraryjournal.com/heavymedal

Collecting Children’s Books, http://collectingchildrensbooks.blogspot.com/

The Reading Zone, http://thereadingzone.wordpress.com/

Seven Impossible Things Before Breakfast, http://blaine.org/sevenimpossiblethings


Amazon Affiliate. If you click from here to Amazon and buy something, I receive a percentage of the purchase price.

© Elizabeth Burns of A Chair, A Fireplace & A Tea Cozy

5 comments:

Susan said...

Sorry I missed this, I was at Marlo Thomas and then the YA author thing...so glad you had such great turn out.

Melissa Wiley said...

Thanks, Liz, for this recap and the updated links, including mine. Wish I could have heard that talk!

Will you be at ALA Midwinter? I hear it's going to be here in San Diego!

Liz B said...

Susan, there are always so many good things at the same time.

Melissa, yes! It's January 7 to 11 : http://www.ala.org/ala/conferencesevents/upcoming/midwinter/index.cfm

Samantha said...

I keep reading about the ALA conference that a lot of book bloggers went to and am extremely jealous! Looks like you had a good time. Thanks for the info on the upcoming conference - San Diego sounds like a great place to be in January! :)

Tasha said...

Liz, thanks so much for including my blog on your list. I wish I had been able to attend ALA this year!

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails