Monday, March 02, 2009

Primavera

Primavera by Mary Jane Beaufrand
Publisher: Little, Brown
Release date: March 2008
REVIEW FROM ARC

Overview: Flora Pazzi was as close to royalty as you could get in Renaissance Italy. Born to a family that rivaled the Medicis, Flora was the “forgotten” sister – the youngest and the plainest. She loved her garden and her grandmother. Through Flora’s meanderings, the reader is exposed to the intrigues of her time – her father’s attempts to first join with the Medicis, and then overthrow them – and the downfall of her family as a result of the plotting. Flora survives her family’s decimation and lives to tell her story.

Love, history, intrigue, action, disaster and triumph run through this narration. Flora is a likable girl with a spark. Definite read-alike for Karen Cushman fans.
© Elizabeth Burns of A Chair, A Fireplace & A Tea Cozy

No comments:

Share on Tumblr

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails